The Heart Chakra, also known as Anahata

The 4th Chakra is the heart chakra, also known as Anahata.  The heart chakra is our energy centre from which love, joy, happiness and compassion comes from.

It is the chakra associated with positive energy, connecting the lower chakras to the higher ones and is very important in your spiritual healing and development as a human being. When it is open fully.  It is here where we invite infinite love to flow through us, allowing it to heal ourselves and others. The lesson of the heart is that we first must love and accept ourselves before we can love others.  How can you love others when you don’t know love of the self?  Loving others cannot exist without the self, first.

When your heart chakra is in balance you will feel a great compassion for all. You’ll be kind, caring and understand. You will understand others and accept them for who they are; you will not judge them or their actions. (ideal case as reality is it takes a lifetime to understand and truly live at the higher aspects of the heart chakra)

Spending time alone is something you enjoy and you are not rushing into one relationship after another.

If your heart chakra is over-active, you will be ruled by your emotions with no or little control. You may be controlling, over critical, and judgmental of yourself and others. Your love may have conditions and you are more likely than not to be a people pleaser, afraid that you will not be liked or accepted by others around you. You may find yourself in a relationship with a partner where you are always giving but not receiving, always forgiving, picking up after them, whether it be emotionally, or physically. Co-dependency can be a result.  You may find it hard to let go of any relationship, that no longer serves your Highest Good.

When your heart chakra is under-active you will probably be very negative in your thinking and may find it very difficult to keep a positive outlook  in life. You may feel unloved, unworthy and this could manifest in the world around you. You have a hard time trusting others and letting them in, keeping yourself at a distance.

If you have an imbalanced heart chakra you may experience the following symptoms that have manifested in your body: heart palpitations, chest pain, poor circulation, high/low blood pressure, and in more serious cases, heart attack.

Healing this Chakra:

Affirmation for the Heart Chakra: Repeat:  I am an infinite being of love, accept love freely and give love freely.  I am loved, lovable, I am love.

Colour of the Heart Chakra:

The heart chakra is associated with the colour green. Picturing the colour green in the centre of your chest will begin to balance it. Lighting green candles and having pictures of the green found in nature surrounding you will help your heart feel at ease, bringing balance. Wearing green, and meditating with green skies, earth, river and picture yourself standing under a green waterfall.

Crystal Therapy for the Heart Chakra:

Rose Quartz, Emerald, Green Tourmaline, Malachite, Rhodonite,  Pink Opal and Prehnite (which is my favourite)  We have a few of these crystals in our store.  Hold the  crystals in your hands, wear jewellery or have crystal clusters around your home.

We have many of these crystals in our store. Request for the others made in jewellery just involves sending us an email at



Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s